Welcome to the official blog of AIPSA. This blog is meant for use by members of All India Postal Stenographers' Association******E-mail: parambilmohan@gmail.com
================ Blog maintained by : P. Radhamohan Nair, Private Secretary to Post Master General, (Retired) Northern Region, Calicut, Kerala Circle=================

Wednesday, February 05, 2014

7th Pay Commission - Chairman and Members' profile.


The much awaited appointment of Chairman, members and secretary for 7th Pay Commission has been officially made by Central Government as per theStatement of Finance Minsiter Shri. P.Chidambaram yesterday. As per FM’s Statement Shri Justice Ashok Kumar Mathur (Retired Judge of the Supreme Courtand Retired Chairman, Armed Forces Tribunal) will be the Chairman of 7th Pay Commission constituted by Government in the month of September 2013.

 Shri Vivek Rae, (Secretary, Petroleum & Natural Gas) will be holding charge of Member (Full Time) of 7th Pay Commission. Dr.Rathin Roy (Director, NIPFP) will be the part time Member. Secretary of 7th Pay Commission will be Smt.Meena Agarwal who is Officer on Special Duty in Department of Expenditure, Ministry of Finance.

This 7th Pay Commission would study the pay and allowances as well as Central Government Pension for each cadre in all Central Government Departments and would file a detailed report to the Government recommending the quantum of revision in pay scale considering the nature of work.

A brief on the profile of 7th Pay Commission Chairman and Members is as follows:

Justice Ashok Kumar Mathur, Chairman of 7th Pay Commission:
Mr. Justice Ashok Kumar Mathur, M.A.,L.L.B – was born on August 7, 1943 . He was enrolled as an Advocate of the Rajasthan High Court on October 20, 1967 . He was appointed as Assistant Government Advocate and Deputy Government Advocate on August 2, 1969 and Government Advocate of Jodhpur from January 31, 1977 to July 12, 1978 . Appointed as Additional Advocate General in 1981. He was appointed as Additional Judge on July 13, 1985 and permanent Judge of the Rajasthan High Court on July 23, 1986 . He was transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court on February 18, 1994

§                  He was appointed as Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court from February 3, 1996 . Transferred to the Calcutta High Court on December 22, 1999 .
§                  He was elevated as Judge , Supreme Court of India on June 7, 2004.
§                  Retired on August 7, 2008 (F.N)

 Shri.Vivek Rae, Member (Full Time) 7th Pay Commission:

Mr. Vivek Rae took over as Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas in the month of February, 2013.

Mr. Vivek Rae entered the Indian Administrative Service in 1978, a brief stint as a Management Trainee with Hindustan Lever Limited (subsidiary of Unilever Limited). As a civil servant, Mr. Rae has acquired wide ranging experience cutting across social and economic sectors, including health, education, planning and finance. Mr. Rae served as Deputy Commissioner in the state of Arunachal Pradesh from 1985 to 1988 which is the cutting edge of government administration for delivery of development programmes at the field level, combined with magisterial responsibilities for law and order. Mr. Rae served briefly at the Prime Minister’s Office during 1989-90 and thereafter worked as Assistant Resident Representative with the United National Development Programme, New Delhi from 1991-1995, with responsibility for Industry, Trade and Technology programmes. Mr. Rae worked as Finance Secretary and Planning Secretary in the state of Goa during 1996-1999, Planning Secretary in the National Capital Territory of Delhi during 1999-2001 and Joint Secretary (Plan Finance) in the Ministry of Finance, Government of India during 2002-2006. The assignment in the Ministry of Finance entailed responsibilities for appraisal and review of major development programmes and investment decisions of the Government of India.

As Chief Secretary of Andaman & Nicobar Islands (2008-2010), the highest ranking civil servant leading an administration of more than 20000 employees, Mr. Rae was charged with responsibilities for overall coordination, policy formulation and implementation of programmes across the entire spectrum of development activities including health, education industries, labour, agriculture & animal husbandry, fisheries, forests, tribal welfare,social welfare, tourism, shipping, ports, public works and other activities. The responsibilities also included direct oversight for matters relating to internal security, coastal security and police administration.

Earlier, Mr. Rae served as Director General (Acquisition) in the Ministry of Defense of the Government of India, during 2010-12 with responsibilities for modernization of the Indian Armed Forces, handling a budget of about US$ 10-13 billion per annum. Mr. Rae was posted briefly as Secretary, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, Government of India, prior to taking up the current assignment.

 Shri.Rathin Roy, Part Time Member, 7th Pay Commission
Shri Rathin Roy took charge as Director NIPFP in May 2013. Prior to joining NIPFP, he has been the Director of Asia Pacific Regional Centre, UNDP, Bangkok, and the Director, International Policy Centre for Inclusive Growth (IPC-IG), UNDP, Brazil. He has also served as the Public Resource Management Advisor, and the Acting Cluster Leader, Inclusive Development, in the Poverty Practice, Bureau for Development Policy (BDP), UNDP. On invitation from the Government of India, he also served as the Economic Advisor to the Thirteenth Finance Commission, a Constitutional body of the Government of India. He has worked in over 80 countries during and prior to his tenure with UNDP, and is a well known figure in the world of applied macroeconomic and fiscal policy.

He holds a PhD in Economics and an MPhil from the University of Cambridge, UK. Post-PhD, he was tenured in the Economics Faculty at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, and an Economist with the Institute for Development Policy and Management, University of Manchester.

Smt.Meena Agarwal, Secretary, 7th Pay Commission:
Smt. Meena Agarwal is a 1981 batch IRAS officer and wife of Shri OP Agarwal, a 1979 batch ex-IAS, who is now in a senior position at World Bank.

Smt. Meena Agarwal is presently Officer on Special Duty, Procurement Policy Division, Department of Expenditure, Ministry of Finance.

Chairman and Members of 7th Central Pay Commission

News from CHQ

 1. The constitution of 7th CPC was approved by Prime Minister with Chairman as Justice Ashok Kumar Mathur, Retired Supreme Court Judge  & other members  from various Departments.

2. Regarding the proposed strike on 12/13th Feb.2014, I have asked all the CWC  members and C.S. about our stand whether to take part or not in the strike. I have  not received responses from all barring a few.

3. Further, I have once again reiterated all our friends to ensure whether the  confirmed figures sought for in Directorate letter dated 21.01.2014 have been sent from all  Circles. On hearing the news of constitution of 7th CPC just now, we have rushed to contact the Directorate. But I am very sorry to say it was informed by the Directorate that still some circles have not responded to the Directorate letter dt.21.1.2014 on the proposal of our cadre restructuring. I have also directed Shri Amit Datta, AGS, CHQ in this regard to contact all the C.Ss to ensure that the figures are sent. I have time and again reminded you all through sms and mails and over phone to send  the figures early from C.Os. as we are in critical jucture of announcement of  constitution of 7th CPC and eyes on the announcement of date for the Parliament election at any time.  

4. It may also kindly be ensured at all Circles whether the merger of Gr.I/II implemented at your Circle.

With Regards,

E. Murugadas,
General Secretary,